Are you a married college student considering divorce? We can help.  Some college students qualify for a Summary Dissolution.

College Students & Divorce

A study conducted by Robin Fretwell Wilson, a professor at Washington & Lee University School of Law reported that women with MBAs, MDs, and JDs are “much more likely” to get divorced than men with the same degrees or women with bachelor’s degrees only.

What to do if you are Contemplating Divorce

Some couples your age can divorce via a Summary Dissolution instead of a traditional dissolution. This is because married couples can qualify for the most simple divorce called a Summary Dissolution (See below to see if you meet the Court’s qualifications).

If you are still confused, give us a call and we’ll answer your questions. We also have a free Divorce Information Drop-in Clinic every Wednesday from Noon-1:00 pm. This is not a class but an open time to just come in and meet privately with a divorce mediator for 15-20 minutes. It is a time to get general divorce mediation information to help you determine if you meet the qualifications for a summary dissolution.  You can call 858-863-3380.

Do you Qualify for a Summary Dissolution?

Below is a checklist of criteria you MUST meet. Check this list very carefully. If even ONE of these statements is not true for you, you cannot get a divorce in this way.

  • Do you know where your spouse resides? If so, is your spouse willing to participate in the divorce with you? This process is a joint process and requires both spouse’s signatures in order to file.
  • We have been married five years or less.
  • No children were born to the two of us together before or during our marriage.
  • We have no adopted children under 18 years of age.
  • The wife is not pregnant.
  • Neither of us owns any part of any land or buildings.
  • Our community property is not worth more than $38,000.
  • Neither of us has separate property worth more than $38,000.
  • Debt: The total of our community obligations/Debt that we owe (other than vehicles) is $6,000 or less.
  • At least one of us has lived in California for the past six months or longer and has lived in the county where we are filing for dissolution for the past three months or longer.
  • We have prepared and signed an agreement that states how we want our possessions and debts to be divided between us (or states that we have no community property or community obligations).
  • We are both willing to sign the final document.
  • We both understand that after the divorce is final, neither of us has any right to expect money or support from the other except that which is included in the property settlement agreement.
  • ***Do not count cars or count car loans in this total.

If you agree to all of the items above, give us a call and we can get your complete divorce done

 

Court Fee: Aside from our fee, the Court charges you a fee to process and file your divorce documents ($435). A check in this amount is written out directly to the Court. We attach it to your completed documentation and submit it for you. As a student with limited income, you may qualify for a fee waiver.

  • 858-863-3380

What it’s like to Divorce at Different Ages

Menu Title